http://www.dailymail.com/news/News/2003103038/

Interest
in book strong

Bookstores expect Lynch story
to be high in demand

Brad McElhinny <bradmc@dailymail.com>
Daily Mail staff

Thursday October 30, 2003; 10:00 AM

With a book signing by Pfc. Jessica Lynch and best-selling author Rick Bragg already scheduled for Charleston's Taylor Books, area bookstores are preparing for heavy interest in Lynch's biography.

Taylor Books has an order of 250 copies ready to be shipped into the store and expects to have more shipped in for the signing. The book signing with Lynch and Bragg is scheduled for Nov. 14, the same week the book is released.

"We have taken some advance orders for her biography," said store manager Kyla Hilton. "We've had a lot of interest in Rick Bragg."

Lynch's book, "I Am a Soldier, Too," is to be released Nov. 11, which is Veterans Day. Even before its release, Amazon.com already ranks the book 2,084th in sales.

Because Lynch is from Wirt County, local interest is heavy for her story of being rescued from an Iraqi hospital after her 507th Maintenance Unit was ambushed during the war in Iraq.

Bragg is the best-selling author of his own memoir, "All Over But the Shoutin'." The Pulitzer Prize winner also is controversial. He parted ways with the New York Times this year after revelations that a freelancer had done most of the research for one of Bragg's newspaper stories, but got no credit.

The publicity push for the book is starting already. This week, ABC News's Diane Sawyer interviewed Lynch in Parkersburg for an exclusive that is scheduled to air Nov. 11 -- the same day as the book's release.

After the ABC broadcast, the Army supply clerk has agreed to interviews on several national television programs. To this point, she has spoken publicly only at a brief news conference the day she returned to Wirt County.