Jessica Lynch Forums: I Am A Soldier, Too The Jessica Lynch Story - Jessica Lynch Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

I Am A Soldier, Too The Jessica Lynch Story Let's talk

#1 User is offline   socks_99_us 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 03 August 2004 - 09:57 PM

I just got done reading the book and I could not put it down for one minnute, so what did everyone else think?

#2 User is offline   Soprano84 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 27 August 2004 - 04:46 PM

It was, at first blush, a simple retelling of the generally understood events. The backstory on Jessica's family and growing up DID serve to show the kind of person she was when she left for Iraw...the kind of person who could survive what she did, both physically and emotionally. The ambush details were enkightening, if scary because they DID happen.

What struck me the most, however, was the deep DEEP connection between Jessica and Lori. An almost perfect relationship...and the true tradgedy (not counting the loss of life) was the sundering of that friendship.

#3 User is offline   Dilligafst 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip

Posted 29 August 2004 - 10:48 PM

I loved the book too. I had to put the brakes on while reading it to try and catch everything that I possibly could. But, as a writer, I also saw gaping holes in it that have, in my opinion and my opinion only, hurt what the book really could have been. Where Jessica's memory is telling the story it is fabulous. I had to check myself while reading through what she said, remind myself to slow down and savour what she is telling. Where Bragg is on his own that is where the book sort of loses ground. The book also skimmed on the Iraqi side of the story, a fascinating part of the story that should have been told more in depth. The problem was, of course, time. Bragg only had a couple months to get the book done.