• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Jessica Lynch To Visit Pullman

#1 User is offline   Liger 

• PipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 19 August 2009 - 12:28 PM

http://z6.invisionfr...hp?showtopic=77

HUNTINGTON -- Pullman Square is going to get a little patriotic come Thursday, Aug. 20.

As part of the weekly Heiner's Summer Concert Series at Pullman Square, Kindred Communications is welcoming a special guest, Jessica Lynch, the West Virginia prisoner of war who was rescued in April 2003 after being held captive in Iraq.

Lynch, who at age 19 was the first woman rescued as an American POW, will be introduced at the concert series, which starts at 7 p.m. and features the Angie Fletcher Band.

Lynch, who still lives in her native Wirt County, W.Va., will be at Empire Books and News from 5:30 to about 6:45 p.m. signing autographs, getting pictures made with folks and signing copies of the book "I am a Soldier Too, Jessica Lynch," written by Rick Bragg.

Now a student at West Virginia University at Parkersburg where she is majoring in elementary education, Lynch became known around the world when she was serving in Iraq as a supply clerk with the 507th Maintenance Company based in Fort Bliss, Texas.

On March 23, 2003, her unit was ambushed near Nasiriyah, a major crossing point over the Euphrates River northwest of Basra. Eleven other soldiers in her company were killed in the ambush.

Lynch, who was seriously injured and knocked unconscious when her vehicle crashed, woke up in an Iraqi hospital from which she was later rescued.

Bobby Nelson, host of Tri-State Talk that airs weekdays from 3 to 4 p.m. on WRVC-AM 930 and 94.1-FM, said the station is proud to host Lynch, who has had eight surgeries in her ongoing recovery from her injuries.

Lynch will be appearing on Tri-State Talk at 3 p.m. Thursday.